Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Last night I decided I was going to have a breakfast craving this morning for a slightly sweet, crunchy, nutty, breakfast-y, anytime snack.  I threw the ingredients together, baked it while listening to the news, and had it cooled and stored in about an hour.  I haven’t made this for months and I just remembered why it should ALWAYS be stocked in my pantry.

Measure (very generously) and mix together in a large bowl:

8 cups rolled oats (or a combination of oats and rolled wheat.)
1 1/3 cup shredded coconut
½ cup wheat germ
½ cup sunflower seeds or chopped nuts (sliced almonds, pecans or walnuts)

IMG_0101 IMG_0103IMG_0102

Measure the following into a medium microwave safe bowl and heat them together for about a minute.  (I am more conservative with these measurements.)

½ cup packed brown sugar
½ cup honey
½ cup oil
½ tsp. salt (optional)
1 tsp. vanilla (I add a little almond flavoring!)

Combine all ingredients and mix well. Divide between 2 large sheet cake pans and bake at 325 degrees for at least 30 minutes or until toasted to your liking, stirring every few minutes and rotating oven racks.

IMG_0104 IMG_0105

Add raisins or other dehydrated fruits, if desired, after toasting.  Cool and store in an airtight container.  Keeps for months!  Serve for breakfast as cereal with milk or sprinkled on a frozen fruit smoothie drink.  For dessert, use it as a topping on yogurt or ice cream.  There’s no more delicious way to add whole grains to your diet!  For gift giving, spoon granola into a cellophane gift bag and tie with a ribbon.

IMG_0107IMG_0110

Just a note about ingredients:  I buy the rolled wheat, wheat germ and coconut in the bulk bins at the grocery store (WinCo carries a huge selection for bulk storage.  It’s AWESOME!  If you have one near you, you really need to check it out!)  You can buy the oats in a large (25 or 50 lb bag) there as well.  I like to keep a large supply on hand for breads cookie baking, and making my granola soap, too.  I stock coconut, sunflower seeds, and almonds in airtight containers in the freezer–they keep for months–so they’re available anytime I have a craving for granola.

