Tags

, , , , , ,

Here’s my inspiration.  My grandma made this little sweater vest many years ago, now modeled by the daughter of my cousin who wore it long ago.  I’m somewhat new to making cables, but I thought it would be fairly simple to “pick off the pattern” as there are no sleeves or decrease rows for the neckline.

owl sweater

My first attempt was interesting–harder than I thought to actually write down the pattern.  I could easily see what I needed to do, but couldn’t quite figure out how to document each stitch for others to follow.

IMG_1437

I need to study up on the notations for cable stitches before I can finish this, but that’s my goal.  For now, I’ll describe the process in general, with plans to finish the stitch-by-stitch pattern shortly.  I used two of the smaller sized skeins of worsted weight yarn and size 7 needles.  (Next time I’ll use size 8 and a single color yarn.)

IMG_1434

I thought the gray and white would be cute for the “woodsy” pattern.  It makes it a little harder to make out the form of the owls, still, you can sort of see them.  I decided to make the vest a little longer to be a “dress” for my year old niece’s birthday.  With the colorful buttons I chose for the eyes, I think it will be cute with long sleeves and tights of any bright color, white, black, or gray.

IMG_1433

I cast on 40 stitches, then had to determine whether to knit from the top down, or up from the bottom.  I decided to start with 8 rows of ribbing first, then continued knitting in the stockinette stitch for about 10 inches–going UP.  The owl pattern required about 18 rows, with four stitches of the garter stitch on each side for the sleeves.  I finished with seven rows across the top (shoulders and neckline).

IMG_1435

I cut the yarn off in a long tail (36 inches should be more than plenty, but I wouldn’t want to skimp) and attached one shoulder with the Kitchener stitch, for 10 stitches, bound off 20 stitches for the neckline using the crochet bind off (love it!), then finished off with the Kitchener stitch on the last 10 stitches of the other shoulder.  (Check verypink.com for tutorials on all of these processes.)

IMG_1436

For the back, make the ribbing and stockinette stitch up to the sleeve opening, then the garter stitch along the 18 rows that were the owl pattern on the front, and seven more across the top to form the edge that will be the sleeve openings and neckline/shoulders. The seam down the sides was “like cake” using this tutorial from (you guessed it) verypink.com.

Here it is on my live “yearling” model at her birthday party.

IMG_151420131111_123132

And here’s the Happy (Hungry!) Birthday Girl stripped down for birthday cake.  Can’t eat cake like this with a new dress on.IMG_1522

Coming soon: an actual pattern for the original vest.  And–surprise!  They aren’t really owls.
UPDATE: PATTERN POSTED HERE. HAPPY KNITTING!

