Tags

, , , ,

Whenever the “generation gap” (can I still use that term?) wedges itself between members of my family I need to remind myself how to refresh our focus on what’s important to all of us together in the long run.  Depending on our age and interests, we tend to have varying goals and pastimes, sometimes at extreme odds with each other, but we are still a family and the ultimate goal is the same for us all.  Awhile back I was inspired to initiate a discussion with my family that turned out to be enlightening and resulted in a state of awesome, silent, deep reflection that, as a parent, you hope will counterbalance the multitude of frivolous default activities in your children’s future.

As nearly as I can recall, here’s how it went:

I began by asking my family to tell me what they would wish for if there were no obstacles or limitations to what they could have. At the top of their list were things like the latest electronic equipment and toys they might have put on a Christmas wish list.  “That’s it?”  I egged them on, “I mean, really, the sky’s the limit.”

They switched over to their “if I had a million dollars” list. TVs in every room, a house with an expansive library and garage to accommodate the nicest cars and boats; vacations; no school; their own media store. That still wasn’t what I was looking for.  “Come on,” I urged them on, “Really let your imagination loose and tell me what you’d like if there were truly, absolutely no limits to your greatest desires.”

Imaginative, impossible gadgets were added to the list. Then someone asked why we should need any gadget at all. Wishing for maintenance-free vehicles that flew immediately turned to wishes of instantaneous travel without use of any vehicle, and the desire for immediate-access-to-everything-smart phones morphed into all-knowing, all-powerful access through their own minds. Every imaginable superpower flew through the air between us, from breathing underwater to healing powers to a free automatic transfer of intelligence between human minds. They were energized by ideas of the most amazing things they could think of being theirs, all without limitations of money, time, physical or mental abilities.

When everyone’s imagination had been set free of the restraints of reality, when the thrill of unlimited possibilities of not only having, but also becoming free and powerful beings had rejuvenated all of us, We acknowledged that all of these ideas had come from our own hearts and minds.  Then I read them this verse:

But as it is written, Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that love him. 1 Corinthians 2:9

(italics added)

